LHENA Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors are elected by the people of Lowry Hill East to represent their interests and to use public and private funds to advance neighborhood initiatives.

Neighborhood initiatives are created and implemented through the neighborhood committees: Crime and Safety, Environment, NRP (Neighborhood Revitalization Program), Public Spaces, Social, and Zoning and Planning.

The Board makes recommendations to the City regarding proposed new developments, takes actions to preserve our historic housing stock, advocates for smart growth along Hennepin Avenue, Lyndale Avenue, and Lake Street, implements specific projects pertaining to environmental sustainability and public space improvements, organizes neighborhood social events, and serves as a forum for all concerns of public significance.

Board members are elected to two-year terms and serve on a volunteer basis. Because members’ terms are staggered, elections for several Board seats occur each year at the annual meeting in April.

Current Board of Directors:

Frank Brown, President
Katie Jones Schmitt, Vice President
Mark Greenwald, Secretary
James Tsantes, Treasurer

Emily Duven

Tim Dray

Alicia Gibson

Bernadette Knaeble

Joe Knaeble

Bill Neumann

Karlee Weinmann

The Board of Directors meets the third Wednesday of every month at 6:30 p.m. Board meetings are open to the public. Anyone interested in neighborhood events is encouraged to attend.